Check out this short video to learn more!

Mission Statement

CUAHSI's mission is to shape the future of hydrologic science by:

  • Strengthening collaboration
  • Developing and delivering data, models, instrumentation and technologies
  • Promoting education 

Revised by the CUAHSI Board of Directors (July 2017)

  • Read more about CUAHSI's mission and strategic objectives in our Strategic Plan.

The Consortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Science, Inc. (CUAHSI) was incorporated in 2001 following extensive discussion and recognition by the water science community of the need to organize and extend the national and international research portfolio, particularly to develop shared infrastructure for investigating the behavior and effects of water in large and complex environmental systems.

Founding Members of the Consortium

There were 33 founding members of the Consortium, which held its first official meeting of the membership on August 10, 2001.

Harvard University University of Connecticut Columbia University
Drexel University University of Notre Dame Colorado State University
UC Santa Barbara University of Texas University of Wisconsin
University of Colorado University of Iowa Pennsylvania State University
Utah State University Boise State University Stanford University
University of Nevada Reno Tufts University New Mexico Tech
SUNY - ESF UC Davis University of Washington
John Hopkins University University of Rhode Island University of Florida
University of Arizona Ohio State University University of South Carolina
Duke University Princeton University Arkansas State University
Florida State University UC Riverside Oregon State University

Click here to read more about the key events in Hydrologic Science that lead to the founding of CUAHSI.


Key Support for CUAHSI comes from: 

  • Department of Homeland Security 
  • Federal Emergency Management Agency
  • Johnson Family Foundation
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration 
  • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  • National Science Foundation
  • National Weather Service
  • William Penn Foundation