Home ⁄ Projects and Services ⁄ Instrumentation Services ⁄ Instrumentation Training and Workshops ⁄ Laser Specs for Field Hydrology and Biogeochemistry

 

Laser Specs for Field Hydrology and Biogeochemistry: Lessons Learned and Future Prospects

Virtual Workshop exploring the potential and pitfalls of a revolutionary technology

Organized by CUAHSI (Consortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Science, Inc.) and the USGS, the purpose of the symposium is twofold: (1) exchange technical information on robust application of laser spectrometry, both in field deployment and for analyzing field samples in the lab; and (2) highlight research that makes use of this relatively new technology for understanding basic hydrologic processes and as part of multi-tracer projects that allow new insights into hydrologic and geochemical systems. Thus, goals include both practical and theoretical considerations.
 

If you are interested in participating, please fill out this registration form so that we can keep you updated with connection data and the information on this workshop.


Flyer: Download LaserSpec_Instrumentation_Flyer_01.07.2014.pdf
Call for posters: Download LaserSpec_CUAHSI-USGS-Inst_Flyer_Call-for-Abstracts.pdf

Kick-off Event:  Instrumentation Forum

Monday, January 27, 2014

10am – 2pm PST / 1 - 5pm EST / 7 - 11pm CET (Central European Time)

Featuring Manufacturer's Presentations by:

Los Gatos Research

  • Dr. Elena Berman "Measurement of delta2H, delta17O, delta18O, 2H-excess and 17O-excess in water using cavity enhanced laser absorption spectroscopy."

Picarro, Inc.

Research Perspectives:

  • Tyler B. Coplen & Haiping Qi, U.S. Geological Survey, "Experiences with laser absorption spectrometry and comparisons with isotope-ratio mass spectrometry at the Reston Stable Isotope Laboratory"
  • Leonard Wassenaar, International Atomic Energy Agency, Vienna, “Approaches for obtaining accurate long-range water isotope (d18O and d2H) performance in hydrologic and environmental studies using laser absorption spectrographs”
 
 

Cyberseminars:  User Perspectives

Throughout February (Mon or Wed) 

All cyberseminars will start at 9 - 10am PST / 12 - 1pm EST / 6 - 7pm CET

Connection Info

Mon, FEB 3

               Markus Weiler – Linking in-situ observation of soil water stable isotopes with water balance estimates and isotope fluxes                in transpiration
               Link to seminar recording

Mon, FEB 10

               Gabe Bowen – Fast analysis and flexible networks: How IRIS and citizen science can give us an unprecedented view of                hydrological events.
               Link to seminar recording

Wed, FEB 12

Julian Klaus – High frequency observations of stable isotopes in precipitation, groundwater recharge, and streamflow

Mon, FEB 24

Mark Conrad – High-frequency water isotope monitoring of complex groundwater/river water interactions along the Columbia River in south-central Washington

 


Virtual Poster Session

Friday, February 28, 2014

10am – 12pm PST / 1 - 3pm EST / 7 - 9 pm CET

Extended abstracts to be published in a USGS technical publication as a collection of seminar and poster abstracts with graphics.  Posters will be available for viewing on the CUAHSI scribd.com account prior to the virtual poster session.

See all the posters from the poster session: http://www.scribd.com/CUAHSI

 
Virtual Poster Session    
Room Speaker time title
Main Meeting   1-3pm EST
  Host 1:00 - 1:10 Agenda
  Host 2:50 - 3:00 Exit Survey
       
Breakout Room #1      
  Scott Allen 1:10 - 1:40 Isotopic Sampling Error due to Throughfall Spatial Variability
  Benjamin Fischer 1:45 - 2:15 Old School Spatial Event Sampling in a Challenging Pre-Alpine Headwater
  Allison Reynolds 2:20 - 2:50 Sensitivity of precipitation isotope meteoric water lines and seasonal signals to sampling frequency and location
       
Breakout Room #2      
  Anne Jefferson 1:10 - 1:40 Hands-On Experiences with Stable Isotopes in the Geosciences Curriculum
  S.P. Good 1:45 - 2:15 Identifying The Origin Of Tap Waters Across The Western United States Based On Stable Isotopic Composition
  David Boutt & Mitch Isaacson 2:20 - 2:50 Controls on the stable isotopic composition of shallow and deep ground waters in the glaciated northeast US
       
Breakout Room #3      
  Yu-Hsin Hsueh 1:10 - 1:40 Tracing water in coastal wetland soils and trees using laser spectroscopy: errors in cryogenic vacuum distillation
  Krystopher Chutko 1:45 - 2:15 Advancing Hydrologic Understanding of the Lake Nipissing-French River System
  Mohammed Gomaah 2:20 - 2:50 Sources of Water and Solutes to the Aquifer near the Ismalia and el Kassara Canals of North Eastern Egypt